Posted tagged ‘Hartford CT Historic Site’

Taste of Hartford 2011

August 1, 2011

The Taste of Hartford begins todays! This is a terrific opportunity to try many of Hartford’s world-class restaurants at an affordable price – only $23 for a three-course meal! Wow!

Participating restaurants are located throughout the City of Hartford. Click on the link below to view the list of the participating restaurants and their respective “Taste of Hartford” menus.  The best choice of restaurants yet!

Advertisements

A Victorian Holiday in Hartford CT

December 10, 2010

Have you ever thought about what Christmas was like during the Victorian period (late 1800’s)? Travel back in time and get a glimpse of a Victorian Christmas on Sunday, December 12 between 5pm and 8pm on Farmington Avenue in Hartford’s West End. The Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain homes will be authentically decorated and the halls will echo the sounds of the season. Take a carriage ride around Nooks Farm. Enjoy hot cocoa, sweets, carolers, and music as you experience an 1880’s Christmas celebration in two of Hartford’s most famous historic homes. Admission is $20 for Adults an $10 for children.

Maria Hagan
Hartford CT Real Estate Agent
East Hartford CT Real Estate Agent
Wethersfield CT Real Estate Agent
Rocky Hill CT Real Estate Agent
Homes for Sale in Greater Hartford CT

Follow Maria Hagan on Twitter
Find Maria’s Guide to Living in the Greater Hartford, CT Area on Facebook
Connect with Maria Hagan on LinkedIn

2010 Holiday Tour of the People’s House

December 5, 2010
View album

 
A prominent industrialist, George C. F. Williams, built the Georgian Revival style residence in 1909 at 990 Prospect Avenue in Hartford CT’s West-End. In 1943 the State of Connecticut decided that the Governor should have a “special” house, much like the President has the White House. The State acquired the home in 1943, renovated it, and the first Governor occupied the home sometime in 1945.
During the early 1990’s, the first lady of then Gov. Lowell Wiecher, started an annual tradition – a holiday open house. The Governor invites the public to tour the festively decorated first floor of the residence each year in early December.
(more…)

The Colt Armory, Hartford CT

October 31, 2010

In 1855 Samuel Colt built a firearms factory in what is now called Dutch Point. To draw attention to his factory and the City of Hartford, Colt had the “Blue Onion” dome with cast bronze colt erected at the top of his factory. The “Blue Onion” dome has been a conversational piece since it topped the Colt Armory. Colt paid homage to the original Dutch settlers in his selection of street names:  Huyshope Avenue (after the original trading post name of Huys de Hoop), Van Block Avenue (after  Adriaen Block), Van Dyke Avenue (names after Guysbert Van Dyke, the first commander of Huys de Hoop), Hendrisxen Avenue (named after a lieutenant that served aboard the Onrust, the ship Adriaen Block used the explore the Connecticut River).

Seven years after building his factory in Hartford CT, Samuel Colt, at the age of 47 died, but he had already made a lasting impact on the City of Hartford, and the community known as Dutch Point.


%d bloggers like this: